top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGraphic Designer

Horror Film Poster


Sadako vs. Kayako [REDESIGNED]

A Visual Communication Design assignment has tasked our class a concept on what makes a successful product that grabs the attention of the audience.


As I have been most interested in the film industry, my research is to analyze and determine a good film poster, whether they served its purpose in being recognized by the casual viewers, and by a single image, be interpreted correctly on its genre, theme, or its narrative.


I randomly chose to look into the Japanese horror crossover, "Sadako vs. Kayako" (2016). Their original poster, my viewpoint of it is of the typically designed layout of a modern movie poster. I noticed how movie industries rely so much on quickly produced digital prints and photo images of the actual casts, that these formulaic methods loses the uniqueness and identity, and many of the products fall into having similar imagery, you could not tell which is which anymore. I browsed into the traditional way of creating film posters during the 20's all the way to the 80's, and I was fascinated on the effort and dedication put into those visual promotions, using traditional and graphic art style. I also discovered an independent poster company called Mondo. Situated in Austin, Texas, Mondo is known to design posters from different media for a limited edition, as well as selling other merchandises such as shirts, toys and CD/vinyls. What I admired most of their works is their use of 2D illustration, minimalism, and their ability to make each of their poster distinguishable from others. Their use of colour and symbolism help identify a movie and its suggested content.

Being heavily inspired to follow suit into Mondo's creative technique, I designed an alternative to the poster of "Sadako vs. Kayako" in a much simple yet effective approach. Knowing this is a showdown between two horror icons, I pit these opponents in a similar manner of those boxing or wrestling matches, their faces shown in full front. Colour choices have been limited mainly to blue, a choice to better set the mood of the movie, and a drab and darker palette to classify it as a horror film. Of all the colour flatness, I added more value and texture on the characters' faces to give them the central focus and what will catch the eyes of the audience first, adding a pale yellow and cut-out style to emphasize the shape and depth of their faces. Since their trademark appearances are their long, black, disheveled hair, I made the decision to draw their hair encapsulating both "protagonists" together, as if they are entangled to each other.

While the imagery helps in telling the viewers what the movie is, text is an important factor that ties the design together and further emphasize the point of the identity. What's more, is that the art of typography and choice of font further highlights an entire theme or "personality" of a certain subject. I used a thinly jagged font for the title to emote this sense of discomfort, fear and instability onto its horror imagery, as well as applying the pale yellow to put contrast onto the majority of the blue colour scheme.


Looking at its summation of the design, I believed that I accomplished on my research and this product's function on gravitating the audience of unease from its narrative with one image, as well as providing them with the accurate exposition to what this poster is about. I was confident enough to have this poster on full display for my year end Design Grad Show. Though I lately made some second guesses afterwards, whether I may have frightened hundreds of visitors, viewing throughout that formal night.


 

Visit Mondo at | https://mondotees.com/

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page