top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGraphic Designer

The Double Toasted Second Year Extravaganza Poster Contest Submissions [2016]


[1] The T.O.A.S.T.

2012. Before my years in high school were coming to a close, I discovered a podcast that reviewed movies in an animated, comedic fashion, called Spill. Situated in Austin, Texas, the highly entertaining content crafted out by animator/movie critic, Korey Coleman, gradually gained my interest in film and entertainment culture, appreciating critiques in a whole new light. It was with exuberant hosts like Coleman, that also influenced me into bettering myself to be more confident, and willing to express myself through my creative talents. Even if they had different views or tastes from mine, they became role models of mine, in more ways than one, helped broaden my perspectives and be more understanding with people. But before I considered subscribing to them, Spill was suddenly shut down.


[2] The Ghoul Man

After a brief period of heartbreak over the loss of Spill, I began to follow Korey Coleman on his updates and newfound goal to continue on his movie review ventures along with his long-time cohost and friend, Martin Thomas, and create the spiritual successor to Spill, reborn to become Double Toasted (2014). While it may be entirely different, straying from their animated format, the tone and liveliness of their shows still remain, welcoming more diverse personalities, special fans, guests, and newer hosts alike, bringing a new freshness, far distinctive from its predecessor. I instantly signed myself as a member, and grew to be more active in its community, sending fan arts for the Crew.


By the time the website reached its second year, the cast prepared an extravagant live show/party, inviting fans to Austin and celebrate. Coleman also initiated a poster contest for fellow artists to participate in. I immediately got to work, plentiful of ideas that I can draw out. Researching into the art of film promotion and visual advertisements, I looked back into the classic, vintage movie posters where they used more of an artistic, painterly style. Striving to have my works more unique, I approached my illustrations to be as vibrant and striking to the viewers' eyes. My first entry was inspired my love for the superhero and spy genre. Thus, I featured the DT Crew clad in heroic attire; each cast's appearance and ability—in my view of them—is solely based on their distinguished persona. The name of the mock movie poster relates to their brand name, converting into a archetypal spy agency with acronyms. Its typeface, especially, closely associates with an old computer data font, to where secret agents would typically use during missions. The second poster is where theme shifts into the horror genre. Setting the tone into darker, minimal palettes, I drew reference to the older horror movie posters, where the monster takes the majority of space to evoke the level of intimidation to the protagonists (or potential victims) below, to which I chose the younger cast members for the roles. The typeface exemplifies a shocking pop out, with the design outside of the traditional fonts, and a bright bloody red to contrast from the overall blue colour scheme. Consistently, I applied Korey Coleman as the largely central focus to determine his chief role of the entire system.


I eagerly submitted my two entries for the contest. But I was amazed to discover other good works from artists, each gifted with different flare to their styles and ideas, and ranging from graphic design, photoshop, and even the traditional drawings and colourings. To me, winning was far from my goal throughout this process, but to be recognized and appreciated by these creative heads, that have their love and talents through arts and animation. Despite achieving second place with "The T.O.A.S.T." poster, to have the DT Crew call out my name and sincerely appreciate my artworks was all the reward I wanted from them. And it was thanks to Double Toasted that I feel acknowledged and support by the community, eventually leading to future collaborative projects and development in my design business.


 

You can follow Double Toasted, and explore more of their great content in the following pages:

Website | https://doubletoasted.com/

SoundCloud | https://soundcloud.com/kcoolman

YouTube | https://www.youtube.com/user/DoubleToastedDOTcom

Twitter | @doubletoasted_

Facebook | @DoubleToasteddotcom

Instagram | @double_toasted

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page